TGIF

springtime, daffodils

TGIF, TGIF, it’s Friday and I finally get to see Felix again!

Time feels like it’s flown since I’ve been home, but this has been the longest week. When you’re used to seeing someone every day, two months ends up feeling more like two years. We’re in for a couple of low-key weeks in small town Virginia, but first, I’m headed up to DC to meet him for the weekend. If any of you have some funky, offbeat suggestions for a veteran DC-goer I’d love to hear them, especially restaurants because we’ve got an anniversary to celebrate!

I’ve been trying to keep myself busy, but it’s harder than I thought. My mind has definitely been less than focused…but for the most part, it’s been a good week.

I’ve got a big family and we like our holidays – seriously, we think every holiday deserves a get-together and a buffet that leaves you stuffed; I’m in no way complaining! It’s been fun to finally be home for a holiday and to plan Easter with my mom: splurging on candy, buying the most ridiculous things for Felix’s first American Easter basket, and putting them all together. Sunday was a great day with lots of food, even more desserts, sunny weather, and visiting with cousins I hadn’t gotten around to seeing since I’ve been home. As an added bonus, there were newborn kittens!

splurging on easter candyeaster collagekittens

After Easter, the week took a turn for the worse with the NCAA Championship on Monday night. Happily, it was a Wisconsin-Duke showdown. I’m not sure what would’ve happened if my Anyone-but-dOOk feelings had met my Anyone-but-Kentucky tournament mantra in that final, but I know it would’ve been bad.

Not so happily, Duke won and we all had to suffer through watching the smirkiest basketball team ever celebrate.Is there anything worse?? I’m still seeing the occasional celebratory posts from Duke fans in my news feed.

To make Tuesday worse, it was the end of any productivity I could’ve mustered up. As much as I tried to write my grad school personal statement and then a blog post, the sunny weather and my excitement over seeing Felix again quickly zapped all focus. I can’t complain too much because I do have a pretty good base tan going from all the yard work  I’ve done; I kid you not, I’ve raked 24 bags of leaves and I’m not even done. I’ve really gotten into it and hoping a green thumb isn’t far behind.

IMG_7169I’m sure there’s something else I wanted to mention, but this is about all the focus I can put into this post for the moment; I’m leaving in an hour and trying to keep myself from pacing in front of the door! I’ll be back soon, but I hope everyone enjoys their weekend. And I’m serious about the DC suggestions, if you’ve got ’em I’d love to hear ’em!

4 thoughts on “TGIF

    • Hi Vera 🙂 It was a curious week for sure! The countdown to F’s visit was almost unbearable.. But Friday was magical.

      Like

  1. Sounds like you are having a relaxing and fun time at home! Congratulations on another anniversary and I can’t wait to see you when you’re back in Marburg! 🙂

    Like

    • I’m glad you can comment again! I tried to figure it out and failed… I have really love being home, but it definitely took a month. Thanks 🙂 and I can’t wait to be back! June June June!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

