Farewell to 2014

2014 has been a year of change.

It was a transition from student to graduate, from having a plan to none, and from English to German. It was a tough year full of goodbyes to friends and family, often and unexpected bouts of homesickness, and an adjustment from being wildly independent to needing a lot of help.

But it was also a year of growing.

I’m a better cook, can hold a conversation in German, and I’ve survived six months with just two pairs of jeans. I still can’t read a map, but I can go with the flow. And though we have a rocky relationship, Marburg is slowly starting to feel like home.

I started this blog at the end of July with a post about my adjustment to life in Germany after one month (how optimistic did I sound?!). This space was supposed to be something to keep me busy and a place for my mom to read about my day-to-day life in Germany (since Germans are much too private for extensive Facebook photo albums). I never imagined how cathartic sharing my stories, the fun, and my fears would be and how much I would rely on the incredible expat blogger community to reassure me that my crushing homesickness is 100% normal.

Highlights from 2014

Ringing in the year in small-town Germany.

exploring germany

Watching UNC beat dOOk from the risers.

UNC victory over dOOk at home 2014

Celebrating one year together with F during his second visit to the U.S.

one year anniversary with F

Graduation (but not saying good-bye to these three McCal galz).

University of North Carolina graduates

Moving to Germany.

moving to germany

Rushing the streets after Germany beat Argentina to win the World Cup.

german weltmeister

Our August travels: Heidelberg, Trier, Luxembourg, and Metz.

Heidelberg, Germany Trier, Germany LuxembourgMetz, France

Getting my very own dirndl from F for my birthday .

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Not letting homesickness & doubt get the best of me and hosting my very first Thanksgiving dinner.

German Thanksgiving

Christmas time in Germany.

German ChristmasIn 2015 I want to pick a direction to go in and follow through so that I feel a little less directionless in the coming year. It’s going to take a lot of time and some serious self-reflection, but it starts tomorrow.

I hope everyone has a fantastic New Year’s. See y’all in 2015!!

8 thoughts on “Farewell to 2014

  1. Definitely a memorable year for you! Love that you still can’t read a map — I’m awful too, haha. Happy New Year and I hope 2015 is just as great! 🙂

    Like

  2. Look how far you’ve come!! I love these posts that reflect on the year because I find it kind of crazy how much we can do in just 12 months… I wish you the best in 2015 and you’re definitely not alone in homesickness! Blogging has also helped me quite a lot in being able to relate to others in times where I’ve felt completely alone, living thousands away from my home.

    Like

    • Thanks so much Marianne! 🙂 It was really fun to look back and put this together – definitely one of my favorite posts to write. Blogging has almost single-handedly helped me make it through the roughest days.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

