A long overdue update for October

I’m sorry for being such an absentee blogger. I’ve become the epitome of the German phrase keine Lust.. After 19 days and too many Criminal Minds episodes, I’m finally forcing myself to sit down and write. What began as a little problem with the Internet contract quickly evolved into a never ending, Internet-less existence, and because of that the number of days since my last post has kind of snowballed into this intimidating and seemingly insurmountable 19.

But I was completely unprepared for how hard it has been to get back into a regular blogging routine. It was hard enough the first time, but this was brutal. And it isn’t for a lack of blog-worthy moments – October has shaped up to be just as great as I anticipated and it isn’t over yet! Therefore there’s no time to write a post dedicated to everything from the past three weeks, forcing this post to work double-duty as an apology and a quick life update.

1. Turning 22 at Oktoberfest

Oktoberfest in Munich is at the top of my German To-Do list, but I seriously think I’ll need to train for it if I want to really enjoy (or survive) it. Plus, the Oktoberfest spirit is everywhere in Germany and very hard to miss. The waitresses here in Marburg are still wearing dirndl and Oktoberfest ended weeks ago. So even though I’m a little disappointed I didn’t get to see an Oktoberfest server carrying eight Maß at a time, I still got to enjoy October like a real German. I had a blast partying with my dirndl-wearing people and who wouldn’t want a room full of Germans singing them “Happy Birthday”?! It was the perfect first-birthday-away-from-home weekend. Plus there was a homemade birthday Apfelkuchen and some cows. I couldn’t really ask for more, except maybe some more pictures of me in my dirndl...

Dirndl und Lederhosen for Oktoberfest

The only picture from the night.

German Apfelkuchen (apple cake)

2. Resident Status

I finally got my residence permit! It seems like I’ve been working through this process and waiting for this card forever. Germany really does make the process rather complicated. Thankfully I had F and his mom to drive me to appointments, translate everything, and to just generally have more of a clue than me. Now I have until next summer to figure out the next move.

German Resident

3. The end of an era – Deutsch als Fremdsprache

Stufe 2, check. Sort of. I’ve got to pass the oral exam tomorrow, but then I’m done with my language course for now. I’m really dreading it. Give me a beer and I’ll talk your ear off. Get me one-on-one and I can hold a semi-intelligent conversation. Throw me in a group of people and have them ask me questions? Oh please no. I’m not sure how tomorrow will go, nor do I know exactly what to expect, but ultimately, I have learned a lot in these last six weeks and made a couple new friends. German language course, es lohnt sich.

Do you ever find yourself in a blogging funk, where you just can’t find the motivation or stay focused long enough to sit down and write? I don’t know what happened to me, but rest assured there are some cool posts coming soon! This includes one about my best friend from home’s first visit to Germany, some of my favorite personalities from the Sauerland, and more about Marburg. 

3 thoughts on “A long overdue update for October

What are your thoughts?

