Travel stories

“Travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.” – Miriam Beard

This post was going to be my travel story – an explanation for how my love for travel, foreign cities, and exploring began, where I’ve been, and what I’ve seen. Admittedly, my list of countries visited and cities seen is far from overwhelming, but with each place, there are powerful memories and lessons learned that reach far beyond what I saw. As I sat thinking about where to begin, it seemed the post I had in mind would do these wonderful places a disservice.

So instead of focusing on the things you could find in a travel blog, I’d like to dedicate this series of posts to the stories of these magical places and how they shaped my ideas of life. Once a week, there will be a window into a new city – either through a snapshot of life there or a lesson learned.

Edinburgh, where I discovered cities and streets have pulses and that feeling them was the best part of exploring.

Istanbul, where I learned that some cities are so magical and important that they settle into your soul and never leave.

Sophia, where I learned to let go of preconceptions and that the past doesn’t define you.

Amsterdam, where I learned to be true to myself in order to avoid regrets.

Jerusalem, which taught me just how important a city can be.

Look out for the first post in this series on Thursday! Which snapshot would you like to see first?

What are your thoughts?

