A Week in Review: Four Stars and a Smartphone

July 13-20: A Week in Review

"Street-rushing celebrations remind me of home"

“Street-rushing celebrations remind me of home”

This week as a whole wasn’t the most exciting – this can be blamed on the fact that it is smack in the middle of exams and every student is hunkered down somewhere studying. But, all-in-all, it wasn’t too bad. My business flyers finally paid off and I had my first tutoring session + a couple of papers submitted to me for editing. The person I tutor is really nice, has very conversational English, and wants us to meet long term. I rushed into an intersection and partied with some pretty happy/loud/crazy Germans. Thank you, Mario Götze! I listened to lots of live music while sitting in the sun and drinking a beer in public – for an American, that will never stop being crazy. And a friend loaned me their old smartphone, after being camera-less and depressed since dropping my iPhone in the toilet last week…  After Wednesday, my boyfriend is done with exams – for now – and the summer holiday can begin! Look out for posts about a couple of awesome trips that are in the planning stages!

Rose(s):

  • The weather was finally nice enough again, that I was able to lay out on the Lahn River. I was seriously becoming worried about how pale I was looking…
  • Also, I decided to do something productive with my time and made this blog. I think this is going to be great!

Thorn(s):

  • I didn’t make it through chapter three of Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen… I made it to the last page of the chapter and then this blog happened…
  • I had a tearful moment this weekend due to my tendency to freeze up whenever someone speaks German to me, regardless of whether I know what they’re saying or not. I need to practice speaking more…

 Germany-FIFA-world-cup

“You cannot help but love Fußball when you’ve got such a fun group of guys! Danke Jungs”

Like a typical American, I really had no interest in soccer before this World Cup – despite playing my obligatory season in the third grade. I blame this on the fact that I was immediately assigned to the fullback position, which is nowhere as cool or important when you’re nine. Admittedly, until recently I still didn’t completely grasp the rules. Offside, what?! But this changed quickly because Germans watch every match: the unimportant ones, the scoreless ones, the unbelievably long ones, the history-making ones. I still wouldn’t willingly sit through an entire scoreless game on my own, but I am learning.

With the beautiful weather Germany lucked into having this week, there were a couple of open-air festivals around Marburg. I’m not sure what either one was for, but I liked them. Below are pictures from one of the many areas of the first festival – 3 Tage Marburg. That young jazz band was great, and they even played a couple of American songs that I could sing along to.

Drei Tage Marburg in the Oberstadt - live performaces, food, and of course, beer.

3 Tage Marburg in the Oberstadt – live performances, food, and plenty of the local beer, Licher.

Oberstadt

“Die schöne Oberstadt”

What did you do this week? Did you do anything exciting?

What are your thoughts?

